E9 Guitar Chord Lesson

The E9 Chord (also known as E Dominant 9th, E dominant Nine, E dominant 9) is found by locating the 1, 3, 5, b7 and 9 steps (E, G#, B, D and F# ) of the E Major Scale: E  F# G# A B C# D# E. The “b7” symbol translates to a “Flattened 7th” which means we take the 7th position of the E Major scale and flatten it by a 1/2 step which gives us a “D” .

So the notes of the E Dominant 9 Chord are: E, G#, B, D and F#

Here is a key that will help you read the chart:

Guitar Chord Chart Key

Follow this link to reach our entire library of easy basic beginner guitar chords

E9 Video Demonstration

Additional Resources

Follow this link for a free downloadable/ printable pdf ebook that contains 50 easy guitar chord charts for beginners.